Lourdes

By / 27th February, 2019 / Major tourist location, Summer, Winter / No Comments

Lourdes, a source of inspiration

Cosmopolitan and benevolent, Lourdes is located at the gateway to the Gaves Valley. Known as a place of spirituality and brotherhood, it receives 6 million travelers every year from all continents. These pilgrims come to meditate and contemplate the cave of Massabielle, where the Virgin Mary appeared to Bernadette Soubirous in 1858, forever changing the destiny of the city. Lourdes has a rich natural and cultural heritage: the Sanctuary, the Castle, the Pic du Jer and the lake… It is also the starting point for many walks.…

Discover the Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes

Located on the banks of the Gave de Pau, the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes welcomes pilgrims and visitors from all over the world throughout the year. Live an unforgettable experience by discovering this site unique in the world.

lourdes sanctuaire camping pyrénées bareges

Le Pic du Jer

The Pic du Jer, which overlooks the city, is accessible by a more than 100-year-old funicular that takes you near the summit at an altitude of 900 metres in a few minutes. At your arrival, a walking trail will lead you to the summit; you will discover a unique viewpoint offering a 360° view of Lourdes, Tarbes, Pau, the Argelès-Gazost valley and the Pyrenean peaks. In Lourdes, the VTTists are not outdone! Home of international mountain bike competitions, the Pic du Jer offers three tracks of different levels.

Lourdes

Lourdes, source d’inspirations

Cosmopolite et bienveillante, Lourdes est située à la porte de la Vallée des Gaves. Connue pour être un haut lieu de spiritualité et de fraternité, elle reçoit chaque année 6 millions de voyageurs venus de tous les continents. Ces pélerins viennent pour se recueillir et contempler la grotte de Massabielle, où la Vierge Marie apparut à Bernadette Soubirous en 1858, changeant à jamais le destin de la ville. Lourdes possède un patrimoine naturel et culturel riche: le Sanctuaire, le château fort, le Pic du Jer et le lac… Elle est aussi le point de départ de nombreuses balades.…

A la découverte du Sanctuaire Notre Dame de Lourdes

Situé sur les bords du Gave de Pau, le Sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Lourdes accueille pèlerins et visiteurs du monde entier durant toute l’année. Vivez une expérience inoubliable en découvrant ce site unique au monde.

lourdes sanctuaire camping pyrénées bareges

Découvrir le Sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Lourdes, c’est pénétrer dans un lieu historique aux multiples trésors :

Entrez dans la Grotte de Massabielle, lieu des apparitions, ou se trouve la source découverte par Bernadette.

Le Pic du Jer

Le Pic du Jer qui surplombe la ville est accessible par un funiculaire plus que centenaire qui vous amène non loin du sommet à 900 mètres d’altitude en quelques minutes. A votre arrivée, un sentier de promenade vous conduira jusqu’au sommet ; vous y découvrirez un belvédère unique offrant une vue à 360° sur Lourdes, Tarbes, Pau, la vallée d’Argelès-Gazost et les sommets pyrénéens. A Lourdes, les VTTistes ne sont pas en reste ! Site d’accueil de compétitions internationales de VTT, le Pic du Jer propose trois pistes de différents niveaux.